“It’s all in the details… from design boards to reality. How to effectively communicate design concept to a client.”

by Erin Paige Pitts

One of the most difficult aspects of what I do is taking what is in my head and communicating it to a client.  Most designers have honed their visualization skills to the point that they can see all spaces not only in 3-D but completed, down to the last detail.  All to often, clients do not have this ability and it becomes the designer’s task to demonstrate and communicate the concept to their client. 

Design boards are one of the main ways to “demonstrate” a concept, along with a lot of images (from either magazines or past projects), floor plans and rendered elevations.  Some designers also provide rendered perspective drawings.  I do perspectives if  it is requested by the client.

In this post, I am going to share with you some of my design boards  and elevations for these spaces.   I am constantly trying to improve my demonstration skills of interior concepts to a client. I would love to hear your suggestions!

This particular board was for a Cabana for a client in Vero Beach Florida.  The client wanted a very clean white interior.  To achieve that look and keep it cleanable, we used mostly sunbrella fabrics.  To keep it beachy keen, we incorporated many items out of natural fibers. 

The next board is for the main home in Vero Beach.  The directive from the client was clear.  A very clean, contemporary aesthetic.  Minimal but not cold.  Neutrals but not all white.   Masculine but with enough softening to please the wife. 

This board, also for the same house was for the foyer and the master bedroom.  Often on large projects, you can’t do a single board for each space because you simply don’t have enough boards to do that.  This project filled every inch of all 5 of my boards and then there was still remaining areas to do!

Unfortunately, I don’t have installed photos of this project to show you just yet but I hope to in the near future.  If you are considering hiring a designer for a project, I’d love to show you the talents I bring to the table!