“It’s all in the details… L.A. Day 3 and 4… Getty Villa…San Ysiedro Ranch…dinner with Marc Appleton…

by Erin Paige Pitts

I got the L.A. bug and got a little lazy and unfortunately sick… so I am reporting on my L.A. travels of Day 3 and Day 4 together, and upon my return back home to the east coast.  I must say returning was bittersweet.  On one hand, I missed my children and the comfort of my own home.  On the other hand, there is nothing like California and it is a place that hold my heart until I return again….

On Day 3, we drove from West Hollywood to the Getty Villa in Southern Malibu.  The Getty Villa was a point of inspiration for the clients of a recent project of mine.  The villa and it’s gardens are something worth visiting.  Here are some pics to show the highlights…..

We then continued north to one of my all time favorite lunch spots in Malibu… Paradise Cove, the Malibu Beach Cafe.  It is truly a barefoot on the beach dining experience.  Here is a pic of the beach front by the restaurant.  

And the restaurant itself….

We then continued north to Santa Barbara where we retired for the night.  Santa Barbara, often referred to as “America’s Rivera” is really a place of sheer beauty.  My husband who had been to California many times before, had never been to Santa Barbara was instantly smitten.  After a relaxing afternoon of bicycle riding, we dressed for dinner with some new friends for us… Marc and Joanna Appleton.  You may recognize Marc as is he among the esteemed group of AD 100 Architects.  Here is a recent project of Marc’s that was published in the April 2010 Architectural Digest.

If you love what you see in this project,   be sure to check out Marc’s website.  http://www.appleton-architects.com/  I hope to have the opportunity to collaborate with Marc on a project in the near future!

After drinks at Marc and Joanna’s new house, we went with them to the San Ysidro Ranch.  Marc designed the interiors of this incredible inn and restaurant, of course. 

www.sanysidroranch.com

I’ve recently been asked by some professional consultants to better define some of the goals of my interiors practice.  I have decided that one of my goals is to develop my interiors practice on both the east and west coasts so some day, I will have the flexibility to live in California!!!!

