“It’s all in the details… L.A. Day 2… Newport to Santa Monica….and Gehry and Partners….

by Erin Paige Pitts

Day 2 in LA turned out to be a the best day yet!!!  I started out early on my drive south to Newport Beach to meet with a new client.  I am very excited to be working on this project in Newport Beach! The client, is an amazing lady, who 30 years ago when visiting LA from the East Coast, driving on PCH decided she was finally “home”!  I think we are kindred spirits because I have felt that way my entire life.  Unfortunately, I have yet to live out the dream of living on the west coast, but Gail has, and I look forward to working with her on this project.

Next on the list was an appointment with my husband Gregory at the offices of Gehry and Partners.  In my career, I have been in hundreds of architectural offices.  NEVER in my life, have I had an experience like being in Frank Gehry’s offices.  Their offices are not office like at all, rather, it is one large model building shop with models of buildings that I could physically walk in!!!!   Among the most impressive models was of the Guggenheim in Abu Dhabi.  The model was as large as my living room.  Unfortunately, photos are prohibited but I was able to take some pics in their reception area.  The artwork there and some of the smaller scale models are impressive as well.
Our dinner plans were at Ivy on the Beach with two of my new favorite people, Brooke and Steve Giannetti.  As many of you my know, Brooke is the author of the blog Velvet and Linen.  Brooke and her husband Steve are partners in Giannetti home, a firm that has a beautiful store and does both architecture and interiors.  I don’t think there was more than a split second without conversation as we had so much to talk about.   As it turns out, Steve is from Maryland, not far from where we live.  We look forward to many more fun times ahead with Brooke and Steve.  Btw, in the table next to us at dinner was Maria Shriver and her children.  Greg kept hoping Arnold would join them but no such luck!

Day 3 will be a visit to the Getty Villa, then north to Malibu to my all time favorite spot, “Paradise Cove, Malibu Beach Cafe” and then on to Santa Barbara.  Have a great day!

