Design in the Social Media age

by Erin Paige Pitts

I am honored to have been selected as one of the “20 Young Designer’s to watch in 2010” by Traditional Home magazine in their March issue.  In addition to this great honor, it has also made we aware of the growing influence of the Social Media scene.  In hours from the magazine hitting the shelves, I had calls from social media firms from all over the U.S. wanting to help promote me by way of social media.  It made me realize that I needed to figure what all this was about.  I started by updating my website and personal Facebook accounts.  I then, started a Facebook business page.  The last thing that I was told I needed was a blog.  I wasn’t sure what I would say in a blog if I started one.  I thought on it for a month and decided that I may have more to say than I realize.  I am not only a designer but am part of a family of design professionals.  Our lives revolve around design and it is the common topic of conversation at our house.  I decided that I would start my blog and focus on trying to help non-design oriented (people and design people too), understand what makes good design good from my perspective.  I hope you will enjoy my posts and follow me!  Also, go to www.traditionalhome.com and vote for your favorite young designer- hopefully it will be me!

